“A PHILOPHOBE’S CHOICE”

I’m way too old and bitter
Those stupid fairy tales make me want to say: “Whatever.”
My old man used to say:
“Never waste a day away,
’cause damsels-in-distress are as good as dead.”

So being overly helpless and dependent is what I dread.

I choose to take care of me.
Prince charming?
Knight in a shining armour?
Please!
You’re like talking about ancient creatures of some dead-centuries-old mythology.
How do I know that there is still at least one,
left behind,
or at least somewhere in this dying society?

Physical attraction?
It’s temporary.
Love?
It should still be sacred,
yet many have left it tainted
or still use it as a form of illusion
just to fool others to bed
before leaving them behind
all alone and heartbroken…

R.

(Jakarta, 6/10/2016 – for The Couchsurfing Writers’ Club Weekly Challenge: “Choices”.)

Leave a comment